Trevor Manuel

Member, non-executive and independent

Born: 1956

Nationality: South African

Trevor Manuel – Member, non-executive & independent (photo)


Trevor Manuel was a Minister in the South African government for more than 20 years, serving under the presidents Mandela, Mbeki, Motlanthe and Zuma. He served as Finance Minister from 1996 to 2009. Before his retirement from public office in 2014, he was Minister in the Presidency responsible for South Africa’s National Planning Commission. He also assumed a number of ex officio positions on international bodies, including the United Nations Commission for Trade and Development, the World Bank, the International Monetary Fund, the G20, the African Development Bank and the Southern African Development Community. Trevor Manuel was elected to Swiss Re’s Board of Directors in April 2015. He is a member of the Investment Committee.

External appointments

  • Board member of SABMiller plc
  • Member of the International Advisory Board of Rothschild Group
  • Deputy Chairman of Rothschild South Africa
  • Chancellor of the Cape Peninsula University of Technology
  • Professor Extraordinaire at the University of Johannesburg
  • Honorary Professor at the University of Cape Town
  • Trustee of the Allan Gray Orbis Foundation Endowment

Educational background

  • National Diploma in Civil and Structural Engineering, Peninsula Technikon, South Africa
  • Executive Management Programme, Stanford University, USA