Optimized printing

Annual Report 2015


Swiss Re’s Group Bylaws stipulate that at least three-quarters of the members of the Board of Directors must be independent. Independence is defined in line with best practice corporate governance standards. To be considered independent a Group Board member may not be, and may not have been in the past three years, employed as a member of the Group EC, or by any Subsidiary of the Swiss Re Group or may not have a material relationship with any part of the Swiss Re Group (either directly or as a partner, director or shareholder of an organisation that has a material relationship with the Swiss Re Group) other than serving as an independent board member in any Subsidiary. In addition, the Group Board agrees on other criteria that disqualify a Group Board member from being considered independent, taking into consideration provisions of applicable law, regulations and best practice. All the members of the Board of Directors meet our independence criteria with the exception of our Chairman. As a full-time Chairman he is not considered independent.

Conflicts of interest

The members of the Board of Directors are also subject to procedures to avoid any action, position or interest that conflicts with an interest of Swiss Re Ltd or the Swiss Re Group or gives the appearance of a conflict.

Information about managerial positions and significant business connections of non-executive directors

Walter B. Kielholz, Chairman of the Board of Directors since 1 May 2009, was Swiss Re’s CEO from 1 January 1997 to 31 December 2002. In line with Swiss Re’s revised independence criteria, Walter B. Kielholz, being a full-time Chairman, is not considered independent. No other director has ever held a management position within the Group. None of the members of the Board of Directors has any significant business connections with Swiss Re Ltd or any of the Group companies.

Other mandates, activities and functions

In line with Swiss Re Ltd’s Articles of Association the members of the Board of Directors may not hold more than ten additional mandates of which no more than four additional mandates can be with listed companies. Mandates (i) in companies which are controlled by Swiss Re Ltd or which control Swiss Re Ltd, (ii) mandates held at the request of Swiss Re Ltd or by companies controlled by Swiss Re Ltd as well as (iii) mandates in associations, charitable organisations, foundations, trusts, employee welfare foundations, investment companies, equity partnerships or limited liability partnerships are not subject to the above limitations. No member of the Board of Directors may hold more than five mandates as set out in (ii) above and not more than 15 mandates as set out in (iii) above. Mandates shall mean mandates in the supreme governing body of a legal entity which is required to be registered in the commercial register or a comparable foreign register. Mandates in different legal entities that are under joint control are deemed one mandate.

In addition, no member of the Board of Directors shall serve on the board of directors of a listed company in which another member of the Board of Directors holds an executive function, or where a member of the Board of Directors is able to determine the compensation of another member of the Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors ensures that in any event the number of external mandates held by members of the Board of Directors does not conflict with their commitment, availability, capacity and independence required in fulfilling their role as Board member.

All Board members comply with the requirements on external mandates set out in the Articles of Association.

Any activities of Board members in governing and supervisory bodies of important Swiss and foreign organisations, institutions and foundations, as well as permanent management and consultancy functions for important Swiss and foreign interest groups and official functions and political posts, which are material, are stated in each of the directors’ biographies, which can be found in the Members section.

Changes in 2015

At the Annual General Meeting on 21 April 2015, Trevor Manuel and Philip K. Ryan were elected as new non-executive and independent members of the Board of Directors for a one-year term of office. At the same time, the shareholders re-elected Walter B. Kielholz (Chairman), Mathis Cabiallavetta, Raymond K.F. Ch’ien, Renato Fassbind, Mary Francis, Rajna Gibson Brandon, C. Robert Henrikson, Hans Ulrich Maerki, Carlos E. Represas, Jean-Pierre Roth and Susan L. Wagner for a one-year term of office as members of the Board of Directors. Raymund Breu did not stand for re-election.